

Annual General Meeting 2023-2024

Friday 29 November 2024, via Zoom 1pm -3 pm AEDT (Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Hobart,) 12.30 pm – 2.30 pm (Adelaide) 12pm – 2pm (Brisbane) 11.30 am -1.30 pm (Darwin) 10 am- 12 pm AWST (Perth)

Minutes

1. Acknowledgement of Country

- 2. Apologies: Tanya Jakimow, Joyce Wu, Serene Ho
- 3. Register of Members in Attendance: Ahmed Abid; Aiden Craney (Incoming Treasurer); Anne Decobert (Incoming President); Pranjali Das (Student Representative); Annabel Dulhunty (incoming Ordinary Member); Susan Engel (Treasurer); Emily Finlay (DiP Managing Editor); Patrick Kilby (Secretary); Lorenza Lazzati (DSAA Social Media and Communications Administrator); Ashutosh Kumar; Mathew Mabefam (Vice- President); Kudawashe Praise Mutukura (incoming Ordinary Member); Kate Neely (Ordinary Member on Committee); Alex Bahamon Oviedo; Deborah Rhodes; Heloise Weber (President); Yirga Woldeyes (Incoming Vice-President).

/ Confirmation of Quorum /

- 4. **Confirmation of minutes of previous meeting.** Confirmed: Moved by Susan seconded by Matthew.
- 5. Annual Report: Heloise presented the Annual Report with the highlight being the third DSAA biennial Conference which was very successful. Heloise registered thanks to the University of Melbourne for hosting the conference, and specifically to the conference organizing committee (including Jeff Garmany, Bina Fernandez, Vichy Schubert, Patrick Kilby, Aidan Craney); She also registered thanks to Matthew Mabefam and Vichy Schubert for organizing the pre-conference HDR event, and to Pranjali Das (student representative) for assisting with the first half of this event. A big thank you was registered to Lorenza Lazzati for her outstanding support.

Heloise also thanked committee members for all their contributions over the past two years, including: Aidan for relaunching the 'Thematic Working Group' initiative; the subcommittee on DSAA engagement (Deborah Cummins, Souvik, Kate and Pranjali); Susan Engel for providing stellar support as Treasurer; Patrick Kilby for wearing many hats and for his much-valued contributions (Secretary, 'acting-treasurer') and Editor-in-Chief of DiP. Heloise

registered a big thank you also to Matthew Mabefam for being such a stalwart as Vice-President, and for stock staking and providing and evaluation of the DSAA five Year Strategy.

The great support of Lorenza Lazzati was acknowledged with huge thanks by Heloise and the committee.

Heloise thanked all the committee members and DSAA members for their support, which the association values greatly.

- 6. Financial Report Susan presented the annual financial report which showed healthy surplus.
- 7. **Development in Practice (DSAA Journal) Report).** Patrick Kilby as Editor in Chief and Emily Finlay as Managing Editor presented the journal report. The key features were the renewal of the T&F agreement for a further five years from 2026; three-fold growth in submissions from around 350 in 2021 to around 1,000 per year in 2024; a 50% increase in the Taylor and Francis grant; and increased downloads and improved citation metrics.
- 8. **DSAA Book Price Announcement** The book prize went to Winterford, Keren, Deborah Rhodes, and Christopher Dureau. 2023. *A Strengths-based Approach for International Development: Reframing Aid.* Warwickshire, UK: Practical Action Publishing, 2023.
- 9. Election of Members of the Committee: The DSAA Committee for 2025 was confirmed following nominations and as there was only one candidate for each Office Bearers position, Industry Representative and two candidates for two positions of Ordinary Member there was no need for a formal ballot. The new committee Anne Decobert (President); Yirga Woldeyes (Vice-president); Aiden Craney (Treasurer); Thomas McNamara (Secretary); Deborah Cummins (Industry rep); Annabel Dulhunty (Ordinary Member); Kudawashe Praise Mutukura (Ordinary Member).

10. Resolution for an amendment to the Rules of the Association:

that a new clause be added on membership of the Committee: "44.2: In addition, for any journal that DSAA is editing, the Editor in Chief (or equivalent) is ex officio an additional non-voting member of the Committee." This was passed.

- 11. Annual Membership Fee; This remains unchanged
- 12. Any other business (AOB) There was a formal vote of thanks to the outgoing members of the commute in particular the Executive ably led by Heloise Weber.

Being no further business the meeting closed at 2.30.